Tags

,

A/N: This was supposed to be posted a few days ago, but it has been sitting in my drafts unfinished.

Who am I? What am I doing here? These questions provided to me from my workshop are quite heavy, but definitely something to think about. My name is Donna, and I’m a writer, a photographer and a journalist. I’m here because I want to learn how to get better at writing. As a blogger at my new job, I know I need to expand my skills. I’m here to talk about dogs, news, movies, and everything I can get my hands on.

It’s not easy to differentiate the two types of writing – news and blogging – until you actually get your hands on it. I also am a fictional writer, writing online with other people so we can create stories for our own special character.

What’s the difference?

  • News: You talk about the good and the bad without bias. You have the responsibility to inform the public with information that they need to know about something that happened. What was that charity event that happened on the weekend? Where? When? Why? How did the people participate in it? There’s no room for close-ended questions that result in a “yes” or “no”, because that will never gain you the answer you’re looking for.
  • Fictional writing: Fiction is something that doesn’t exist in real life. You write based on ideas, genres and turn something as a lost knight without a kingdom into a search for himself and a new purpose in his life.
  • Blogging: By definition, blogging is to update about an event, a situation or a topic in a blog. A blog is written informally or in a conversational style. It’s similar to the concept of opinion editorials from what I’ve seen, but it’s something I’m still learning about.

Maybe by going through these workshops, I’ll be able to learn more.

