Tags

, , , , ,

So, it’s been a while since I last posted on my blog. In all honesty, I was just practically stumped on what to post that people who followed my blog could use. I wanted it to be information that related to you guys, or something that was a complete expression for myself, but instead, I hit the wall of Writer’s Block.

On a lighter note, the topic I wanted to blog about is going to be completely different from what I usually talk about and that’s about health. I admit, I did my fair share of “dieting” – though the word does have a negative connotation sometimes – and I’ve seen people trying to figure out how maintain their weight, but keep falling off the radar and away from their goals. Even if you’re the type to not gain any weight, you might be the type to want to gain it or be more fit.

So sharing is caring and I’m going to give you some of the tips that I’ve gathered.

Moderate eating in 5’s

We know there’s the basic meal times of the day: breakfast, lunch and dinner. And we all admit that we love food and there should be no reason to make it become our worst enemy once you’ve stuffed yourself. It might make you feel a little gross and wondering, “Why did I eat that much?” or even the question, “Why did I eat that?” It’s not that you shouldn’t have eaten that – though that’s something to talk about later – but consider the pace of your eating and how much you consume in a single meal. But don’t forget that there’s always other times of the day to eat and that’s snack time.

Pick a time of the day to eat your morning and afternoon snack so that you’re not always stuffing yourself at every meal.

Also, it’s best to eat how much you think you’re able to eat. If you overfill your plate, there’s a chance these things will happen:

  • If you get full, it’ll go to waste and you may or may not feel guilty about wasting it.
  • A full plate may mean finishing every last bite and possibly stuffing yourself.

Calorie-counting is terrible.

We hear it every day and everywhere we go. Celebrities talk about it and it’ll just ruin your day without knowing it. I’ve had the experience of calorie-counting and that led me to gnawing late and night and craving to eat something. So here’s what you do: don’t count your calories. It’ll drive you up the wall every time you eat and you’ll be the spoil-sport of the next birthday you hit up. We need those calories to expend energy so that we can go through our day.

“But calories equal weight!”

Yes, it does. But that’s mostly because you’re eating more calories than you burn in a day. Having an active lifestyle is key to making those calories burn off, but sometimes your body will be exhausted and asking for that small bit of calories to keep you going. Eat a light snack, like an apple. It’s a thing in Western culture – from what I’ve seen – to have a celery stalk and baby carrots raw with salad dressing.

Timing is everything.

If you’re the type to weigh yourself, you might want to be careful. But that’s something I can’t dictate to you. Constant weight-checking is bound to drive people up the wall, but the best time to check your weight is five minutes after you’ve woken up and done your morning business. It sounds weird, but it makes a difference rather than checking later in the day when you’ve eaten and made your muscles ache to the point your body feels heavy. Cut-off times for eating are also important because you need to give your body time to digest what you’ve eaten. From what I’ve been told, don’t sit for half an hour after you’ve eaten. In that time, your body could be deciding to send your food to your stomach and your butt, but by standing, it’ll be able to go where it needs to go. But the most important cut-off time is when you’ll no longer be eating. Set a time for yourself and say, “I won’t eat past XX p.m.” I tend to go with 7 p.m. and give myself some time to digest everything.

And eat breakfast. Don’t skip it. 

Sleeping also affects how you lose weight. Sleeping long enough to make sure your body’s not exhausted from oversleeping or sleeping too little is an important factor. It’s important because it’s all in your metabolism to be able to lose that weight you want to drop. By sleeping early and waking up when you should be awake – for example, going to bed at 10 and waking up at 6 – will help your body to regenerate and your metabolism will be able to speed up. When you lack sleep, you find yourself consuming more to give your body more energy to get through your day and gaining more weight.

Okay, so what about food?

It’s a touchy topic for all of us, really. We all love food, but sometimes we have a love-hate relationship with it. Simply know your limits when it comes to eating and that one thing you have a guilty pleasure for shouldn’t be an everyday thing. Make it a reward for yourself by treating yourself once in a while and say, “Hey, I did good so I deserve this.” Just watch out for some things that you might be consuming, like soda. They’re kind of something you might want to steer from and even Hollywood celebrity J.Lo says to keep away from the pop or it’ll go to your legs. From what I found out, pop also has phosphorus that will burn out the calcium in your bones twice as fast. I can’t dictate to you about eating fried foods or not, because it’s really up to you to decide what you think is healthy and not healthy for your body. You might already know them, so there’s no need for me to regurgitate that.

“I’ve done everything but I’m not losing weight!”

That’s a worry that comes up a lot. You may be having an active lifestyle and you’re eating right, but nothing’s changed. You’re doing exercise and already, that’s not helping.

Here are some things to consider:

  • Are you doing the same workout everyday? When you first start working out, it might be bringing in a lot of benefits for you and you’ll start dropping that weight. But what you might see down the road is something called a ‘plateau’ where everything in your body has become stagnant. Simply, your body has become used to not only your lifestyle, but also your exercise habits. Change things up so you’re not doing the same workout everyday.
  • How’s your stress level? If you’re stressed, you might want to be careful about that. We have a hormone in our bodies called ‘cortisol’ and when you have a low stress level, then you have a low amount of cortisol and it should stay that way. But when we’re stressed, that cortisol level goes up and it influences us to crave something salty or sweet. So rather than being able to eat bibimbap, you’ll probably want to be stuffing yourself with a burger and fries because you want something salty. Also consider if it’s a good stress or a bad stress too! Read more about it here.

All right, everyone. That’s the end of my health post for today. If you have anything you want to ask me about what I’ve written, feel free to comment!

